Birgit Habenstein



Since 2020   Managing director of German Society for Biomedical Engineering / VDE

2015   Research Scientist (CR CNRS), PI CBMN (CNRS UMR5248)

2014   ANR research associate (ANR RPDOC), CBMN (CNRS UMR5248), group of Dr. E. Dufourc

2012 – 2014   EMBO Long-Term Postdoctoral Fellow, MPI for Biophysical Chemistry, Goettingen (Germany) with Prof. A. Lange   

2011   Postdoctoral fellow, ETH Zürich (Switzerland) with Prof. B.H. Meier

2008 – 2011   Ph.D. in biophysics, IBCP Lyon (France) with Dr. A. Böckmann

2008   Research assistant, ETH Zürich (Switzerland) with Prof. B.H. Meier

2007 – 2008   Research assistant, IBCP Lyon (France) with Dr. F. Penin / Dr. A. Böckmann

 2002 –2007   Master in biotechnology, TU Berlin (Germany) / INSA Lyon (France)

2001   Abitur (equiv. A-levels) Gymnasium Philippinum Marburg (Germany)

Selected publications

Nanodomain Clustering of the Plant Protein Remorin by Solid-State NMR.

Legrand A, Martinez D, Grélard A, Berbon M, Morvan E, Tawani A, Loquet A, Mongrand S, Habenstein B*.

Front Mol Biosci. 2019; 6; 107


3D structure determination of amyloid fibrils using solid-state NMR spectroscopy.

Loquet A, El Mammeri N, Stanek J, Berbon M, Bardiaux B, Pintacuda G, Habenstein B*.

Methods. 2018 in press


Coiled-coil oligomerization controls nanodomain organization of the plasma membrane REMORINs.

Martinez D, Legrand A, Gronnier J, Decossas M, Gouguet P, Lambert O, Berbon M, Verron L, Grélard A, Germain V, Loquet A*, Mongrand S*, Habenstein B*.

J Struct Biol. 2018 in press


Bacterial Filamentous Appendages Investigated by Solid-State NMR Spectroscopy.

Habenstein B*, Loquet A*.

Methods Mol Biol. 2017;1615:E1.


Structural basis for plant plasma membrane protein dynamics and organization into functional nanodomains.

Gronnier J, Crowet JM, Habenstein B, Nasir MN, Bayle V, Hosy E, Platre MP, Gouguet P, Raffaele S, Martinez D, Grelard A, Loquet A, Simon-Plas F, Gerbeau-Pissot P, Der C, Bayer EM, Jaillais Y, Deleu M, Germain V, Lins L, Mongrand S.

Elife. 2017 ; 6


Hybrid Structure of the Type 1 Pilus of Uropathogenic Escherichia coli.

Habenstein B, Loquet A, Hwang S, Giller K, Vasa SK, Becker S, Habeck M, Lange A.

Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. Engl. 2015, 54(40), 11691


High-resolution structure of the Shigella type-III secretion needle by solid-state NMR and cryo-electron microscopy

Demers JP#; Habenstein B#; Loquet A; Kumar Vasa S; Giller K; Becker S; Baker D; Lange A; Sgourakis NG

Nat. Commun. 2014, 5, 4976.


Structural Investigations of Molecular Machines by Solid-State NMR

Loquet A; Habenstein B; Lange A

Acc. Chem. Res. 2013, 46(9), 2070.


PhD / Postdoctoral fellows

2020 Sujeesh Sukumaran, postdoctoral fellow (Fondation de la Maison de la Chimie)

2019 – present Arpita Tawani, postdoctoral fellow (Momentum Grant, CNRS)

2016 – 2019 Denis Martinez, postdoctoral fellow (IdEx Installation Grant, University of Bordeaux)

2017 – present Anthony Legrand, PhD (University of Bordeaux Student Grant, University of Bordeaux, co-supervision with Dr. Sebastien Mongrand LBM)


2016-   Structural Biology, Master courses, INP ENSTBB Bordeaux (Bordeaux)

2005-2007   Bionics, Masters/Diploma courses, Institute of Bionic and Evolutionary Strategies, TU Berlin (Germany)


2019 BayFrance collaboration subvention

ANR PhosphoREM-domain 2019-2023 (partner)

ANR VirMEDACO 2019-2023 (partner)

Fondation de la Maison de la Chimie 2019 (post-doc funding)

Momentum CNRS 2019-2021, CNRS

Ecole Thématique CNRS 2018, CNRS

AAP region (post-doc funding) 2017, Région Nouvelle Aquitaine 

PEPS Bordeaux 2016-2017, IdEx Bordeaux / CNRS 

Chaire d’Installation IdEx Bordeaux 2016-2019, Initiative d’Excellence Bordeaux 

ANR RPDOC 2014-2017, Agence Nationale de la Recherche

Long-term Postdoctoral EMBO fellowship 2013-2014

Long-term Postdoctoral DFG fellowship 2012 (returned)

Long-term Postdoctoral DAAD fellowship 2012 (returned)

PhD scholarship, région Rhône-Alpes 2008 – 2011


Award Dina-Surdin 2013, SFBBM

Award Jean-Marc Lhoste 2013, SFB

Scientific Societies

Since 2018               French society of Magnetic Resonance (GERM), committee member

Since 2017               International Associated Laboratory France – Japan LIA CNPA

Since 2012               French Society of Biophysics (SFB)

Since 2012               French Society of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (SFBBM)

Past Team membres

2019 Hicham Sekkouri Alaoui, M2 Master Student

2018 Mamadou-Issa Fall, M2 Master Student

2018 Valentin Dousset, M1 Master/Engineer Student

2018 Martin Drance, License Student

2017 Anthony Legrand, M2 Master Student (now PhD student)

2017 Laura Beheran, M1 Master Student

2017 Loris Verron, M1 Master/Engineer Student

2016 Assia Stiti, License Student

2016 Mathilde Constans, BTS Student